Page 1 of 1 pages
(1 pictures)
Picture relating to Warwick - titled 'Wooden bridge over the river in Queens Park, Warwick, ca. 1880'

Sort the collection:

Narrow the collection:

Collection currently narrowed to the year 1880.
Click here to show pictures for all years

- click on a year

- click on a type of place

Wooden bridge over the river in Queens Park, Warwick, ca. 1880

contributed by QldPics, taken in 1880
(contact QldPics about this picture)

Originally known as the Police Paddock, this picturesque park became a venue of Warwick Shows, St Patrick's Day sports, and many other sporting events such as football, cricket, athletics, archery and cycling. The cycling track was already built in 1885. (Description supplied with photograph.)
Warwick was the first town on the Darling Downs, established in 1849 on the banks of the Condamine River. The rich grazing land around the area supports horse and cattle studs, fine wool and grain. In 1871 the railway from Ipswich came through. Warwick is situated 158km south west of Brisbane on the Cunningham Highway. (Information taken from: M. Barca, Explore Historic Australia, 2002)