Page 1 of 1 pages
(7 pictures)
Picture relating to Warwick - titled 'Warwick Central State School, ca. 1875'
Picture relating to Warwick - titled 'Social gathering at St. Mark's Church of England Rectory in Warwick, ca. 1875'
Picture relating to Warwick - titled 'Victoria Bridge, Warwick, Queensland, ca. 1875'
Picture relating to Warwick - titled 'Post Office in Warwick, Queensland, ca. 1875'
Picture relating to Warwick - titled 'View of Warwick, Queensland, ca. 1875'
Picture relating to Warwick - titled 'View of Warwick, Queensland, ca. 1875'
Picture relating to Warwick - titled 'View of Warwick, ca. 1875'

Warwick Central State School, ca. 1875

contributed by QldPics, taken in 1875
(contact QldPics about this picture)

The foundation stone was laid for the Warwick Central State School in Guy Street on 25 June 1874. The sandstone building was completed in July 1875. It was the second state school in Warwick. It functioned for many years as two separate institutions known as Warwuick West Boys' School and Warwick West Girls' and Infants' School. In the late eighies, the name was changed to Warwick Central Schools reflecting the transfer of the main business centre from Albion to Palmerin Street. The two schools were amalgamated in 1933. (Description supplied with photograph.)
Warwick was the first town on the Darling Downs, established in 1849 on the banks of the Condamine River. The rich grazing land around the area supports horse and cattle studs, fine wool and grain. In 1871 the railway from Ipswich came through. Warwick is situated 158km south west of Brisbane on the Cunningham Highway. (Information taken from: M. Barca, Explore Historic Australia, 2002)

This picture is also part of the following Bonzle photo collections: